• November 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Dec »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 284 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,285,529 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Awake Again

Sleep_-_Le_Sommeil_Salvador_Dali

Salvador Dali – Sleep

Insomnia

It’s one of the reasons I have this blog. What else does one do when at four o’clock one wakes up with metaphorical flashing lights in one’s heid? When an inner voice says “You’re no getting back to sleep this time big fella!”

My sleep pattern over the last few days was Tuesday night: Hardly one wink. Wednesday: Completely exhausted, so went to bed at 7:30pm. Slept like a baby until 7:00am. Last night went to bed at 11:00pm. Here I am at 4:30 having tried for an hour to get back to sleep.

Sometimes I can drift back. In such cases it is usually with the aid of an audio guided sleep track. There are 100s on Spotify.

I have found this one helpful.

David Wilson – Deep and Restful Sleep Guided Meditation

This one isn’t bad either.

Dr Elaine Ryan – Relaxation | Guided Autogenic Relaxation (without Wake Up)

Sometimes reading helps.

However, there are some cases where I simply know that it’s going to be futile to even try to get back to sleep.

It’s really something I wasn’t troubled much with in days gone by. In fact almost no matter what time I went to bed, I’d have a good sleep and wake at 7:00am with no need for an alarm. For the last five or six years it has been a lottery whether I’ll get to sleep or not. One thing that has remained constant is that no matter how tired I may be, I almost always wake before 7:00am.

Even this speech about the subject isn’t quite boring enough to send me into somnus again.

2 Responses

  1. Well, if you’d been awake at four yesterday morning you could have come round here and helped me annotate and catalogue the letters of the other Lenin (V.I.). I’m up to the year 1908. Hope you enjoyed the cricket this morning, though. Tee-hee to Chris Broad S.P.C. (smug Pommie cheat).

  2. Of course, I meant Stuart Broad but was still sleepy with brain in reverse.

Leave a Reply

