• June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 284 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,284,440 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

There are some things……

…..that stay with you for a long time.

On Thursday night in the hotel I was staying in (in Grantham) I noticed an old man in the bar. He was shaking quite a bit and was drinking a pint of Guinness via a straw. There was a couple and two girls sitting with him whom I took to be his family. However they left him and eventually the old boy got up to leave himself.

On his way out he stopped and asked, in a Scots accent, if I was staying long. When he heard a familiar vernacular replying he asked where I was from. He replied that he loved Helensburgh and that he was originally from Ayrshire but had lived in Uddingston for many years before moving down to Grantham in 1983.

When he left, some of the other patrons filled in the gaps on “Shaky Dave”. He was the organiser of the local folk club and even in his coping with dementia and Parkinson’s continued in the role. Indeed in his short conversation with me he had asked if I’d be there on Sunday as the folk club would be on.

I said that I wouldn’t make it and that would be a pity because I’d have enjoyed it. I explained that I had the moothies and my travel guitar with me and that we’d maybe share a song or two the following night. A quick check on Friday amongst the other patrons revealed no objections to some homespun music.

I played a few of my repertoire including a couple of Burns songs which Dave joined in on. Eventually Dave asked for a shot of the moothie and he played the theme from “Last of the Summer Wine”. However it was his encore that will stay with me. In a rich baritone voice, with a faultless performance, no accompaniment and perfect timing, he delivered a song I hadn’t heard before.

At the end of his rendition, along with everyone in the bar, I applauded. I shook the old boy’s hand and said truthfully that the song and the delivery of it had been quite incredible. I asked Dave whose song it was and he said “Jeannie Robertson”

There’s quite a bit of Jeannie’s stuff out there on the web but not ‘I’ll lay ye doon’

I could only find this version by a young woman. This perhaps can give you a flavour of the best live performance I have heard in quite some time.

I also found this version by Old Blind Dogs on Spotify

spotify:track:3hf9Yp9JvB5K9pnrXw7IXx

6 Responses

  1. Great wee story, Rab!!

    Glad to hear that you pulled.

  2. Oh! Stu – that deserves a LOL!

  3. It is those serendipity moments that make life worth living

  4. I once was in a pub – no, really, I was – and there was a similar wee old man sitting in a corner supping his Guineas Is Good For You through. Two spectacular blondes of the female species came in a and sat one on either side of him, whispered in his ear, before giggling and heading off with the old fella.

    When I asked the barman how an old bugger like that could pull a pair a stunners he replied: “Dunno. It happens every night. He just sits there supping his pint and licking his eyebrows.”

  5. I wager those other patrons at the bar won’t soon forget your impromptu session, either. When I travel, particularly in your neck of the woods, I live for moments like that.

Leave a Reply

