• June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 284 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,285,529 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Film Star

There is little this writer enjoys more than good customer service. When that is combined with a good price for a job then I like to tell people about it. For example I wrote here about an occasion when I received great service and a great price on iPod repairs.

As readers will know I’m spending a bit of time in the East Midlands at the moment. I’m on a course related to a project I’m involved in. When you’re away from home, life doesn’t stop – there are things one has to do.

I have an old video camera 8mm cassette film, taken in 1999 which I needed transferred to DVD. The subject matter of the film is quite dry and relates to the comparative condition of a building between then and now.

On Sunday I did a search on Google for someone in the Grantham area who could transfer my film on to DVD and found Cold Harbour Films. I contacted them via their webform to ask if they could do the job for me, explaining that I would be local to them this week but occupied during the day.

Gordon Seabrook replied almost immediately with directions to his home from where his business is run. He also said I could drop the film off in the evening or that he would collect the film at my course venue if required.

On Monday evening I went to Gordon’s house and dropped off the film. On Tuesday he sent me a text to say that the job was done so last night I went to collect the two DVDs I had requested.

When I arrived Gordon explained that he had found some other film on the cassette, long forgotten footage of my kids as babies. He had edited that into a lovely presentation with a pictorial DVD case. When I got back to my hotel I found that Gordon had put an animated menu on the DVD with some music playing whilst you make your choice. All this had been done (wait for it!) at no extra charge!! The charge was very reasonable indeed in the first place.

He had also done an excellent job on transferring the original film to DVD.

chf

I have no hesitation in recommending Cold Harbour Films. Gordon says they are pleased to do work via post on a quick turnaround.

A list of the services they do can be found here

One Response

  1. Listen, moosh: I pay good money to access this here “blog” and if I am not able to read about the Preston nutter IMMEDIATELY I’ll get da boyz to slap the back of your legs weally woughly.

Leave a Reply

