• June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 284 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,282,923 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Those Magnificent Men

It wasn’t quite a scene from the 1965 film:

films-1965-those-magnificent-men-in-their-flying-machinesHowever when progressing from the departure gate at Glasgow Airport yesterday, this was the sight that greeted me on the tarmac.

100_1547

No worries though, a safe and swift journey to East Midlands followed. It’s always reassuring to see an infeasibly thin blonde air hostess with far too much make-up. It makes you realise that despite the plane looking like something from WW2, this was a real flight. I hadn’t realised that East Midlands Airport is adjacent to the village of Castle Donington, famous as a former formula 1 motor racing and rock concert venue.

poster

I took the on board easy payment terms at a reasonable APR on a Kit-Kat and a black coffee.
I’m also pleased to report that the journey was nutter free. I think this was at least partly due to the fact we didn’t stop at Drumgelloch.

8 Responses

  1. […] formula 1Those Magnificent Men It wasn’t quitea scene from the 1965 film: However when progressing from the departure gate at […]

  2. I used to fly EMA to ABZ every week. Even though I don’t like flying, it was usually OK. One particular evening, there was a line of thunderstorms from Liverpool to Hull. It was like riding a bucking bronco. Thereafter, I took to driving up instead.

  3. What about the Preston nutter? I’m still waiting to hear about him?

    • Ah well…….the Preston nutter was a she as it turned out which hadn’t been clear from the text. Actually she turned out to be just a lady with a few problems who had voiced them somewhat vociferously. I’m lucky I’ve got a blog to do that on!

  4. nutter free? wasn’t Ryanair then?

  5. 20 years ago I was flying out of Glasgow heading for Paris for a long weekend. For one who hates flying, I knew it was a mistake to be flying with Air Toulouse!!!! To loose whit? Was my first thought. Sitting in the bar waiting on our call, my mate spots a golfing buddy and heads over to say hello, returning a few minutes later slightly ashen faced. He discovered his buddy had just returned from Paris with the same airline and when he asked what the plane was like his mate replied “It is a long, cylindrical, cigar shaped object that flies, just”! When I actually seen the plane I almost had a stroke as it was on of those old polished aluminium jobs, I expected to see Humphrey Go-Cart and Lauren Bacall embracing on the tarmac. It must have been THE very first jet and I’m sure I seen the name ‘Whittle’ scratched on the engine. It only got worse when I boarded as I found that the seats faced both fore and aft just like on a train. I was also seperated from my wife, buddy and his girlfriend who went to the back and me toward the front (they had screwed up our booking) The flight itself was fairly uneventful until we had crossed the Channel when the pilot announced something over the p.a. system, the only words I understood were “Attention” and “Descente”. We went into a very steep and sudden dive and dropped a good few thousand feet before levelling off. I was expecting Algernon or Biggles to announce “Messerschmitts at 9 o’ clock”. When we landed in France I asked the rest of my party what they had made of the dive and they had NOT noticed anything unusual and thought I was just paranoid about flying. On Monday I recognised a few young guys who had been on the same flight, waved them over and asked them what they thought of the flight to Paris. In a real strong Glasgow accent one of them replied “pal it was so f***ing scary that I spent the weekend in Paris scouring the markets looking fur a parachute” I have been unable to find out what type of plane that was.

  6. Fantastic. Thanks for that Tam.

Leave a Reply

