• April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 284 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,291,406 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Ageing Disgracefully

I noticed this article in the Guardian this morning. It’s essentially about ageing and one’s attitude to it.

I generally like to think I have a fairly young outlook on life but two things keep intervening -i.e. the wrinkly grey haired reflection staring back from the mirror, and of course the involuntary reactionary outbursts at the world around me.

I’m not quite sure how long I’ve been coming out with conversation themed on the relative price of goods, the relative quality of music and the relative attitude of teenagers in the time-frame from 1976 to present but it has been a while.

That apart I am genuinely shocked when I see people that I was at school with. I’ll see people I maybe haven’t seen for 20-25 years and think “Christ! they look old and done. Thank goodness I don’t look as old as that!” Safe and secure in the knowledge that they of course will not be remotely thinking the same as they look back at me.

The thing that really shocks me is the way that some have so readily succumbed to the trappings of middle age. I mean perhaps religiously dressing one’s self from Marks and Spencers or ordering a pair of vinyl shoes (stylish! comfortable!) from the classifieds in the Daily Express.

I saw an old classmate the other day. He was clothed almost entirely in a shade somewhere between beige and misty buff. A baldy heid, and pepper moustache and accompanying grandchild topped off the image. He looked about 80 but was in fact around 53

And yet I find myself looking at Volvos and Hondas as a possible means of transport. I’ve also become increasingly aware of advertising for funeral expenses, Saga Holidays and cheaper car insurance for the decrepit.

Going back to the Guardian article, they ask how old you are and how old you feel.

I am of course 35 but I feel much younger than that.

How about you?

9 Responses

  1. SExty on the 29th of May

  2. Funny — surveys show that most people over 35, when asked how old they feel, say “35.”

    The picture of me here was taken seven years ago, soon after my 50th birthday and just before chemo claimed my hair. But it grew back exactly as before, right down to the gray patch over my right temple which first appeared when I was 43. It’s very weird, as my siblings all were going gray in their thirties.

    My sister says she’ll stop dyeing her hair when her husband stops dyeing his. 🙂

  3. I always claim to be 25, but feel 80.
    Watching people you knew, footballers, singers etc, die off is a bit worrying. When you watch a player today and note he was born in 1994 it sends a chill through me.
    Still I at least look 25.

  4. I’ve finally reached the age of 39….(although my daughter is 43 and my son is 40)…does that make me a lying ‘auld git’?

  5. Speaking as a mere youngster of 29 (honest!) I am resolute in my assertion that the day that my wife starts buying my clothes for me is the day that I will consider myself ready for a place on the death list. Still that is at least forty years away.

  6. I’m only 25 but a few years back I awoke one morning to find myself trapped in an old barstewards body, honest! It seems to be happening to more people with an increasing frequency these days, kinda like those who have been abducted by aliens. I spend a fair amount of my time lawn bowling and have met many others with experiences similar to my own.

  7. I felt old the other day when I saw Ian Murray was only 32.
    On the plus side, I’ll never be as old as the Auld Son

Leave a Reply

