• April 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 258 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,116 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Day in Kintyre

Yesterday a few friends and I ventured down to Campbeltown on the Kintyre peninsula to see a friend who hasn’t been in the best of health recently.

Although the weather was a bit overcast, the rain stayed off.

The last time I was in Campbeltown was in 1984 when we had a caravan holiday in nearby Carradale in 1984. When we went there we travelled on the road on the other side of the peninsula via places like Saddell, Grogport and Skipness.

I had a holiday in Macrahanish as a kid and to be honest I can’t remember our route then so I’m not sure if I have ever been on the road we followed on the second part of our journey yesterday which included a stop at the Kennacraig Ferry Terminal and clear views of Gigha (the most southerly of the Hebrides) as well as seeing Jura and Islay in the distance.

First stop en route was a road I have travelled many times and village I know very well – Inveraray.

View from Inveraray Harbour

The smaller boat is the "puffer" or tug The Vital Spark, made famous in the Para Handy Tales by Neil Munro. Not sure if this was the boat from the original 60s TV series or the remake in the 1990s

Next stop was the ferry terminal at Kennacraig.

The Islay ferry about five minutes before departure.

Campbeltown Loch I wish you were whisky!

Campbeltown

It was a grand day out. Good to see our friend Almax and his wife Ann and thanks to them for the banquet (and drams) which welcomed us. A fantastic day of great scenery, conversation, food and drink.

On the way back I fixed my eye on Gigha for a possible future canoe trip.

Watch this space.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers