• January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 258 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,196 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Poetry in Motion

I enjoyed performing at my first Burns Supper of the season last night. I’ve been asked to sing and play at four this year. Last night’s immortal memory was very interesting and quoted William Wordsworth from his poem “At the Grave of Burns 1803″

“I mourned with thousands, but as one
More deeply grieved, for He was gone
Whose light I hailed when first it shone,
And showed my youth
How Verse may build a princely throne
On humble truth.”

The full poem is here

I had read before about Wordsworth’s visits to Scotland but only discovered this morning on a search, that his 1803 visit was the subject of a book by his sister Dorothy with the rather snappy title “Recollections of a Tour Made in Scotland 1803″

I was delighted to find that this book is available on line. If you click here it will take you to page 56 which describes the arrival in Dumbarton of the Wordsworths and Samuel Taylor Coleridge who accompanied them on the first part of the tour.

Simply clicking on the right hand page advances it and on the left page to take you back.

Below, Dorothy Wordsworth describes their accommodation in Dumbarton.

There is an absolutely fascinating account of their stay in Dumbarton including a visit to the Rock, followed by their journey to the Vale of Leven and north via Loch Lomond.

My photo of I Vow September 2010

I have quoted Wordworth’s poem about Island I Vow on the Loch before. He was interested to find a hermit living in the ruined castle there in his visit in 1814:

Proud remnant was he of a fearless race,
Who stood and flourished face to face
With their perennial hills…All were dispossessed, save him whose smile
Shot lightning through this lonely isle!
No rights had he but what he made
To this small spot, his leafy shade

On a subsequent visit in 1831, Wordsworth learned that the hermit had died some time previously and wrote:

How disappeared he? Ask the newt and toad;
Ask of his fellow men and they will tell
How he was found, cold as an icicle,
Under an arch of that forlorn abode

I wrote about my first visit to I Vow here

Anyway I hope this partially dispels the myth that Burns Suppers are ONLY for the purpose of drinking whisky.

Mind you last night there was a fair bit of that too!

Thanks Scotrail for the (free) journey home!

6 Responses

  1. I can fully understand his appreciation and respect for Rabbie.
    This is one o’ mine from 5 years ago, Rab. Not sure if I’ve sent it to you before.
    http://www.poetryofscotland.co.uk/Other/rabbieseye.php

  2. And here’s Willy’s old gaff, not far from me at all.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/22045518@N08/2635829809/in/set-72157604061666318

  3. My tinned Haggis awaits the day.

  4. Reblogged this on calmyourbeans and commented:
    Some great Robert Burns poetry featured in this blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers

