• August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 258 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,052 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

500,000

This is one of the quietest times of the year for blog visits.

Something to do with American holidays.

That said, I noticed that the WordPress counter in the right hand column had tripped over the half million mark. The Sitemeter counter is showing a bit less – I’m not quite sure how these things work out.

Anyhoo, thanks for looking in.

The Fitba’

I haven’t written about the Sons yet this season – mainly because due to things like holidays and work I haven’t seen them yet. However there is something familiar about the start of the season.

Out of two cups already and royally humped on the first day of the league season by Forfar.

I’m hearing that certain clubs in the second division are waving cheque books and overdrafts around in desperate attempts at getting a play-off spot. I say play-off because I’ll be extremely surprised if Livingston don’t get the championship.

Can it really be true that one club with an average home attendance of around 400 are paying their part-time manager over £40k per year?

In time honoured fashion, former Sons Ian Russell and Ross Clark and others were in scoring form at the weekend as their former team was sunk 4-1.

It’s going to be a tough year.

Barging In

Enjoying a few days near the South Lakes. We’re billeted at the terminus for the Lancaster Canal. It’s a few miles from Morecambe. Fantastic location with cycling, canoeing and walking in abundance so it suits Yours Truly very well.

Llamedos - Say it backwards

I also met up with some friends yesterday in Blackpool who were on a mad hedonistic weekend of alcoholic debauchery attending a cultural event taking place there. It was quite an experience witnessing so many punks, some in their 50′s and 60′s, mingling with day trippers, holidaymakers and Hibs fans in town for a friendly match against the local side. I managed to see some of the acts, one of whom have a fairly creative name

"That's a coincidence - I'm an accountant too!"

I’m not sure which of these cultural groups had the most body piercings and tattoos but one thing’s for certain and that’s that some of them went home with a few more. If I were ever inclined to get a tattoo (I never have been) I think I’d go to a tattoo artist who had a vague idea about punctuation.

Tattoo's - No mistake's!

A little extra included

It has been quite some time since I was in Blackpool but I was intrigued at how even the jokes and tricks industry has progressed in the intervening years. Even in the mucky pup market, choice dominates.

After a day in the hustle of Blackpool it was good to get back and wind down with a nice Balvenie by the canal side.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers