• February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,726 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

What Ho!

A veteran Conservative MP has said MPs should be allowed to claim taxpayer-funded expenses to travel first-class on trains because passengers in standard class are “a totally different type of people”.

Sir Nicholas Winterton said that people travelling on the significantly cheaper standard tickets had “a different outlook on life” and were unlikely to be working or studying during their journey.

MPs deserved to be treated like businesspeople and senior public servants and should be allowed to claim for first-class travel between their constituencies and London so they can work, he said.

The Macclesfield MP’s comments came after he told Total Politics magazine that he was “infuriated” by the clampdown on MPs’ expenses after last year’s scandal and said reforms of the Commons allowance system would “make things much worse”.

Liam Gallagher Latest

Indigestion?

Congratulations Mr Bigrab! you have reached the final round of our prize draw! This means that from an initial ninety million people you are in the final 5,000! Just think there could be a cheque made payable to Mr Bigrab, No 1 Bigrab Towers Helensburgh in the post next week.

YES! – Please rush me this  totally useless book that will lay unread forever wonderful reference guide (and my special free gift) which will be cherished and read by all the family and plague me forever with offers of other books enter me in the prize draw which entitles me to £100,000 and £13,251 per year for life if I win!

NO! – I have decided to turn down the once in a lifetime opportunity of this excellent publication but please continue to pester me relentlessly about future offers and throw this envelope in the bin send me my free gift and enter my lucky numbers in the draw, not for £100,000 but for an amount of £6213.50 per year if I win!

Tom Champagne

Prize Draw Co-ordinator

PO Box 100,000

Gullible

Twats

Aye, the most surprising news yesterday wasn’t the news that the Readers Digest had gone into administration, but rather that it had 500,000 subscribers!

I didn’t realise there were that many dentists in the country!

I suppose their “prize draw” guff has been superceded by emails from Nigerian bankers.

Co-incidentally another waiting room staple, the Church of Scotland’s Life and Work magazine bit the dust on the same day.

Whatever next?

The Sunday Post?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers