• August 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 286 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts

  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,344,804 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

  • Advertisements

Could This Be The Best Album Of The Year?

southside johnny

Yes indeed folks. Thanks to my friend Helpless Dancer for the heads up on this. The album, Grapefruit Moon is by Southside Johnny and LaBambas Big Band, and as the name suggests is a compilation of Tom Waits songs.

The album isn’t released until next month but what about this track where the great man himself contributes on vocals?

The tracklisting is below and whilst I have no other tracks at present its a perfect excuse to dig out TW’s ‘A New Coat Of Paint’ from way back in the day. For authenticity you’ll hear this is uploaded from vinyl (complete with a ‘jump’ -sorry!)

1. Yesterday Is Here
2. Down Down Down
3. Walk Away
4. Please Call Me Baby
5. Grapefruit Moon
6. All The Time In The World
7. Tango Till They’re Sore
8. Johnsburg Illinois
9. New Coat Of Paint
10. Shiver Me Timbers
11. Dead And Lovely
12. Temptation