• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,675 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Scotland Goes Pop!

The first in a series. I suspect some of these will get Auld Son’s feet tapping. This is two tracks from The Poets who were managed by Rolling Stones manager Andrew Oldham. Although they never made it quite to superstardom, they were probably the first Scottish band (exempting the Alexander Brothers of course) to make an attempt at serious international impact (I suspect someone may correct me on that!)

I’m not sure of the current status of the band but at least some of them continued as “The Blues Poets” well into the 90′s and I saw them several times (and on one occasion jammed with them) at the Scotia Bar in Glasgow where they had a Saturday residency.

This was perhaps their finest hour, sounding a little like Spencer Davis, “That’s the Way its Got to be”

6 Responses

  1. they used to have a regular spot in a dance hall on the south side around paisley road at cardonald old age has caught up with me and I cant remember the name of it I am sure there are some other old meldrews on here who will remind me
    glasgow at that time rivalled liverpool but did not get the same hype
    chris mcclure and the section
    the beatstalkers
    and locally the apaches
    every bit as good as some of the crap we were fed from liverpool beatles excepted of course
    dean ford and the gaylords
    you widnae get away with that name now ehhh

  2. Robert

    Maybe you’ve seen this before, but away back last year I posted a short piece about the Poets which may be of interest to your readers

    http://almax.wordpress.com/2007/10/13/random-cuts-number-5/

  3. Campbell

    Dean Ford and the Gaylords will feature in this series under their subsequent name of the Marmalade. The single Reflections of my life was a cracker.

    Alastair

    I remember of course, having replied with the piece of trivia that Paul Raven aka Gary Glitter(!) had “produced” them. Thanks for the link.

  4. Its been bothering me all day where the poets played
    I can sleep tonight
    It was the flamingo in paisley rd
    frankie miller was another cracker
    not a bad actor as a wee glesga hard man either
    dont know how much of it was acted though

  5. BR, for more on the Poets I posted this a few weeks back….before you were a regular!

    http://haveringhavers.blogspot.com/2008/04/scottish-band-you-may-have-missed-no1.html

  6. I’m just away for a wee look! Thanks for the link Richard.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers

