• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 258 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,196,915 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

More Dodgy 70′s Fashion- Another Great Track!

We used to play this with a band I was in at the time.

Guilty Pleasures – The Babys Isn’t it Time?

I don’t know about you but I find that certain songs are forever associated with certain places and events. For me this one will forever be the theme song for the Rob Roy Inn in Aberfoyle. They had a “disco” (he he) there on a Sunday night in the late seventies and to comply with licensing laws at the time, had to serve food in order to have a late licence. Thus the Sunday night consisted of a 50 mile round trip in my Triumph Herald convertible, the “disco” and “supper” (usually a rather pathetic and greasy sausage roll) and to be honest just a good time. Dave Young the DJ (who I was later to work with) always played this song in amongst the dance hits of the day. This track could be used in a masterclass for songwriting. It has everything. Catchy intro and hooks all over the place,superb dynamics and great brass and vocal backing. What though about the fashion victim status of lead singer John Waite? I’m sure he was trying for a kind of Bowie look and he succeeded. That’s Miss Bowie, teacher of class 3 from Auchenshuggle Primary school in Glasgow circa 1986. Guilty pleasure as I say but what a song.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers