• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 260 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,804 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

To Drive You Mad

Click Here To Take The Test!

Bo Diddley – A Tribute of Sorts!

Let me say that I’m not 100% certain that this is a Bo Diddley song but it is very much in his style. I have heard two versions of it, one by my friend Rev. Doc and his band the Congregation and the other by Tony McPhee and Billy Boy Arnold. The song is about Billy Boy Arnold who was for a long time Bo Diddley’s harmonica player. The traditional Diddley beat is great to play on the moothie and the very first time I heard this song was by Doc himself busking (similar to the track below but better!) in Ashton Lane just off Byres Road in Glasgow (it’s a great nightime cobbled street full of restaurants and bars). I can’t remember all the words and I messed up at the end. What the hell.

Thank you for the music Bo and even if you didn’t write this song it wouldn’t have happened without you.


The Blues Masters -R.I.P. Bo Diddley

I’ve just learned of the passing of Elias McDaniels aka Bo Diddley. He inspired many other artists including Buddy Holly and The Rolling Stones (Not Fade Away) and U2 (Desire) He of course was well known as a performer and songwriter too with songs such as Who do you love?, Mona and songs which were about his favourite subject matter i.e. himself . Here he is at his peak with Hey! Bo Diddley!

The New York Times Obituary is HERE Thanks to my journalist correspondent Amo for passing it on.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers