• June 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 258 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,197,126 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

The Time Tunnel

Those of you of a certain vintage will remember this American sci-fi series from 1966-67

"Two American scientists are lost in the swirling maze of past and future ages, during the first experiments on America's greatest and most secret project, the Time Tunnel. Tony Newman and Doug Phillips now tumble helplessly toward a new fantastic adventure, somewhere along the infinite corridors of time."

I was only seven when it was first shown but I remember being addicted to the show.

 

 

By luck (or lack thereof) the travellers, Tony and Doug, frequently found themselves thrown onto the precipice of major historical events: on board the Titanic before it hits the iceberg, in Pearl harbour before the Japanese attack, on Krakatoa before it erupts, and so forth. They would try to warn people about the event, or try to prevent it from happening, while the Time Tunnel crew (led by two scientists and a military general), who once gaining a "fix" can view through the Tunnel the action taking place in the different time, would try to rescue the travelers before the historical calamity befell them too. Episodes always ended in a cliffhanger preview of the next episode. The final episode provided no resolution, as the series was initially scheduled to continue into a second season.

There have been several attempts to revive the format. A pilot was done in 2002 and recently plans for another pilot were unveiled.

 

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Robert Service – Songs of a Sun Lover

When I began this blogging lark I said I'd be referring to the poems of Robert Service who assisted in the naming of my blog. Service was a working man's poet and described his work as doggerel. He was certainly no Worsdworth but his ability to convey his message was second to none. He wrestled with his belief and in some poems he refers to "God" whilst in others he expresses atheistic sentiments.

 

 

 

The following is a poem called "Pantheist". Pantheism is atheism but with an acknowledgement that humanity has a spiritual dimension. It is an appreciation on a spiritual level of the wonders of nature and the beauty of things which cannot simply be explained by science and logic.

 

 

 

Pantheist

Lolling on a bank of thyme
Drunk with Spring I made this rhyme. . . .

Though peoples perish in defeat,
And races suffer to survive,
The sunshine never was so sweet,
So vast he joy to be alive;
The laughing leaves, the glowing grass
Proclaim how good it is to be;
The pines are lyric as I pass,
The hills hosannas sing to me.

Pink roses ring yon placid palm,
Soft shines the blossom of the peach;
The sapphire sea is satin calm,
With bell-like tinkle on the beach;
A lizard lazes in the sun,
A bee is bumbling to my hand;
Shy breezes whisper: "You are one
With us because you understand."

Yea, I am one with all I see,
With wind and wave, with pine and palm;
Their very elements in me
Are fused to make me what I am.
Through me their common life-stream flows,
And when I yield this human breath,
In leaf and blossom, bud and rose,
Live on I will . . . There is no Death.

Oh, let me flee from woeful things,
And listen to the linnet's song;
To solitude my spirit clings,
To sunny woodlands I belong.
O foolish men! Yourselves destroy.
But I from pain would win surcease. . . .
O Earth, grant me eternal joy!
O Nature – everlasting peace!

                                            Amen.

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers