• May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 281 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,218,242 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Murraynho

Well done to manager Ian Murray, his backroom staff and the players for their remarkable achievement in keeping the Sons in the first division. Yesterday’s game with Partick Thistle was a bit of a party as the good natured Jags fans celebrated their championship win and promotion to the Premier League.  Sons supporters meanwhile (boosted in number by a DFC supporters club from Switzerland!- I kid you not) had a bit of a party celebrating their highest league finish in 26 years.

Only the post prevented a screamer from Scott Agnew making it a perfect day for Sons but really a draw was just about right.

IMAG0205

Goal of the season man Bryan Prunty can’t wait for the celebrations!

10 Responses

  1. Hello Rab,
    ‘Been looking in at your blog for some time now, thought I should say hello. I found your blog from googling Dumbarton F.C. Although I’m a Rangers fan I saw a lot of the Sons from 1973 to 1978 (family are fans) and I enjoyed my football in those days more than I do now. That’ll be an age thing. This season’s strip gives me a thrill when I see it, thinking of guys like big Bourkey, the McAdam brothers (big Hoof with that perm and the barrel chest,) Ian Wallace and Murdo McLeod.In fact now that I’ve started there are too many to mention. Anyway, love to see the Sons doing well and I hope you’ve enjoyed it this season (the second half of it at least.)
    And there’s no debate, Bryan Prunty scored THE goal of the season!

    • I’m glad you took the time to comment Dave. Another correspondent here, Ferncake, actually Christened Colin McAdam with his nickname at that time. I have a feeling he was the first to use Murraynho too!
      I hope you keep looking in and thanks for the good wishes.

      • Well I never, Hoof is still the funniest moniker in the history of association football.

    • If big Bourkey is John Bourke, he was my PE teacher for a while.

      • The same Jed. Holyrood school on the south side of Glasgow as I recall? I knew John personally as he also played for Helensburgh Cricket Club where I did some DJ work. A gentleman.

        • It was indeed Holyrood, and as it was either late 70s or early 80s it would have been during his playing career.

  2. Well done the Sons. Of course this means you have the delight of John Brown looking in next season, unless things change.

    • A few years ago JB was offered and accepted the DFC manager’s job and then did a volte face the next day and shortly afterwards took the Clyde job. It’s fair to say that his name is associated with rancour at Dumbarton………As Jonathan Ross might say.

  3. Rab
    Delighted for all the Sons of the Rock, very much looking forward to a trip to the Stadio But Betler next season, and proof that the last performance I witnessed there was the aberration it now appears to have been. What do you reckon the biggest game on the fixture list will be?

    • Probably best to wait until the fixtures are announced Iain. Morton is the nearest thing we have to a local derby these days and we have a Morton fan amongst our number so that might be good. Something around September time might be best. I’ll keep an eye on developments!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

