• March 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 281 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,218,864 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

The Weekend Waits – Jesus Blood Never Failed Me Yet

Jeni, my correspondent from Maine USA asked about this record recently and if I’d heard it. I will let a dear departed friend of mine, Almax, tell the story. The following was an article on his blog in July 2010.

 
I’m just posting this in case there are any of you who have never heard this remarkable record.

About 15 years ago my friend played me a CD by Gavin Bryars with the same title as this posting.

It was a highly unusual disc, featuring numerous treatments of the same ‘song’.

And the ‘song’ actually consisted of a few lines ‘sung’ in a rough and ready way over and over again (by a tramp outside Waterloo Railway Station) , the lines being

Jesus’ blood never failed me yet

This one thing I know

For he loves me so

Gavin Bryars explains how this came to be recorded -

In 1971, when I lived in London, I was working with a friend, Alan Power, on a film about people living rough in the area around Elephant and Castle and Waterloo Station. In the course of being filmed, some people broke into drunken song – sometimes bits of opera, sometimes sentimental ballads – and one, who in fact did not drink, sang a religious song “Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet”. This was not ultimately used in the film and I was given all the unused sections of tape, including this one.

When I played it at home, I found that his singing was in tune with my piano, and I improvised a simple accompaniment. I noticed, too, that the first section of the song – 13 bars in length – formed an effective loop which repeated in a slightly unpredictable way. I took the tape loop to Leicester, where I was working in the Fine Art Department, and copied the loop onto a continuous reel of tape, thinking about perhaps adding an orchestrated accompaniment to this. The door of the recording room opened on to one of the large painting studios and I left the tape copying, with the door open, while I went to have a cup of coffee. When I came back I found the normally lively room unnaturally subdued. People were moving about much more slowly than usual and a few were sitting alone, quietly weeping.

I was puzzled until I realised that the tape was still playing and that they had been overcome by the old man’s singing. This convinced me of the emotional power of the music and of the possibilities offered by adding a simple, though gradually evolving, orchestral accompaniment that respected the tramp’s nobility and simple faith. Although he died before he could hear what I had done with his singing, the piece remains as an eloquent, but understated testimony to his spirit and optimism.

Almax then continues…

I’d really forgotten all about this until Tom Waits was the guest editor in Mojo magazine last month – in the free CD there is a version of the song with Waits singing along in the background (‘harmonising’ with the tramp).

As you know, I am not religious, but if I was then I would consider this as a very powerful piece of religious music. As it is, it would genuinely bring a tear to a glass eye. The few lines sung by the tramp (probably entirely of his own invention and devising) have become something of a classic.

Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet

4 Responses

  1. That was touching. Couldn’t figure out all the nudity but I’m sure it had purpose.Nonetheless,straight from the “Tramps” heart it was!

  2. very moving, even for the non religious as already said. I’ve come to you from Anelephantcant and I’m glad I did. Thank you :)

  3. “The few lines sung by the tramp (probably entirely of his own invention and devising) …”

    I had always assumed the words were from an old English hymn. It never occurred to me the tramp had come up with it himself. Just goes to show the people we see around us every day have gifts we might never imagine.

    Thank you for this, although you might have created a small problem for me. I am supposed to deliver a homily this Maundy Thursday, and I thought I had gotten the outline pretty well fleshed out. Might just have to work in this beautiful recording somehow …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers

