• August 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 281 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,218,113 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

The Banter

I was amused by the comments of my correspondent ‘Tocasaid’ on my recent post about Gaelic and Scots.

Some of his/her comments are reasoned and a valid counter argument to my own sometimes tongue in cheek rants on the subject.

However he/she falls into two particular traps which will be familiar to anyone who has ever stumbled across an online discussion.

Mike Godwin

The first is Godwin’s Law. is a humorous observation made by Mike Godwin in 1990 that has become an Internet adage. It states: “As an online discussion grows longer, the probability of a comparison involving Nazis or Hitler approaches 100%. In other words, Godwin put forth the hyperbolic observation that, given enough time, in any online discussion—regardless of topic or scope—someone inevitably criticizes some point made in the discussion by comparing it to beliefs held by Hitler and the Nazis.

Now to be fair about this, Tocasaid didn’t compare me to Hitler, but instead, ad hominem, to Colonel Gaddafi. Apparently having a view on the validity of road sign and document translation in a democracy is something akin to ruling a country by dictatorship for 42 years.

And in all this time I never knew Gaddafi had a kilt! I thought that was Idi Amin!

Tocasaid also fell into the “I pay my taxes, I want my rights” trap.

This is the notion that no matter what one’s beliefs or habits, by paying some cash to the exchequer, one’s every whim is therefore to be indulged.

Anyhoo, it’s all banter when all’s said and done.

Do readers have a preference to which dictator they’d like to be compared to?

And as taxpayers, which right or freedom do you think you should be entitled to?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers