• April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 270 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,211,767 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Leonardo – And Other Artists

Including guitars by Stevie Ray Vaughan and Roben Ford, here is Jennifer Warnes with Lenny’s ‘First We Take Manhattan’

They sentenced me to twenty years of boredom
For trying to change the system from within
I’m coming now, I’m coming to reward them
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I’m guided by a signal in the heavens
I’m guided by this birthmark on my skin
I’m guided by the beauty of our weapons
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I’d really like to live beside you, baby
I love your body and your spirit and your clothes
But you see that line there moving through the station?
I told you, I told you, told you, I was one of those

Ah you loved me as a loser, but now you’re worried that I just might win
You know the way to stop me, but you don’t have the discipline
How many nights I prayed for this, to let my work begin
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I don’t like your fashion business mister
And I don’t like these drugs that keep you thin
I don’t like what happened to my sister
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I’d really like to live beside you, baby …

And I thank you for those items that you sent me
The monkey and the plywood violin
I practiced every night, now I’m ready
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

I am guided

Ah remember me, I used to live for music
Remember me, I brought your groceries in
Well it’s Father’s Day and everybody’s wounded
First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

Leonardo – The Artist

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic ’til I’m gathered safely in
Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love
Oh let me see your beauty when the witnesses are gone
Let me feel you moving like they do in Babylon
Show me slowly what I only know the limits of
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love

Dance me to the wedding now, dance me on and on
Dance me very tenderly and dance me very long
We’re both of us beneath our love, we’re both of us above
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love

Dance me to the children who are asking to be born
Dance me through the curtains that our kisses have outworn
Raise a tent of shelter now, though every thread is torn
Dance me to the end of love

Dance me to your beauty with a burning violin
Dance me through the panic till I’m gathered safely in
Touch me with your naked hand or touch me with your glove
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love
Dance me to the end of love

Bad Text Joke of the Day

An American fighter plane was flying over Libya when the pilot noticed a flying carpet on each side of his plane, both with a machine gunner on board. Sensing danger he shot them down.

Back at base he got a right dressing down. apparently they were Allied Carpets.

From a Different Angle

All from http://www.neuronu.ro/

Irony Meter Explodes!

Yes indeed, our famous Irony meter blew up this morning. Everyone is ok but it was a very loud explosion. Experts have declared it a write off and have advised me to download a new one.

They say it is very unusual for a piece of software to suffer a physical explosion and they were amazed that the laptop survived at all.

All I did was to use the meter against this story from this morning’s news.

It appeared to show high readings at this quote (from Nick Clegg):

The Deputy Prime Minister will insist highly-valued work experience placements should no longer be the preserve of the “sharp-elbowed and well-connected”.

The needle seemed to stick in the highest possible setting at this:

“Unfair, informal internships can rig the market in favour of those who already have opportunities.”

Sadly, when the meter was exposed to the following quote, there was a low humming sound followed by a loud bang:

“We want a fair job market based on merit not networks. It should be about what you know, not who you know. A country that is socially mobile bases opportunity on your ability and drive, not on who your father’s friends are.”

I hope to have a new irony meter soon and hope you’ll stick with us in what is undoubtedly going to be a challenging time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers