• April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 268 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,207,648 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Rab the Flab and the Ferreros

It’s all Tom Morton’s fault.

During his Radio Scotland show on the day Gaddafi henchman Moussa Koussa landed, he invited listeners to call in with ludicrous rhyming names, real or imagined. So there were tales of Mavis Davis, Ian Dean, Alexander Alexander, John Conn et al.

Perhaps it was the North African connection but all I could think of was the old Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs number ‘Wooly Bully’.

If you’re too young here it is.

And so it was that my earworm for the last few days has been Wooly Bully but with the alternative words Moussa Koussa

In the words of Billy Connolly, I couldn’t keep my hands off it!

Quick Quiz Answer

Aye, so who did say the following in 1996?:

“I want to have a substantial and profitable and world-wide business; I want to become a fully listed company on the Stock Exchange, and I want to have major league personal wealth, which for me is over £100m.” He grins cheerily when asked why he wants such massive personal wealth, and says succinctly: “It’s just what you use to measure yourself against the uber rich wankers Hansens, the Goldsmiths, and the Bransons of this world.”

For confirmation of the answer which correspondent Vinnie guessed correctly, click here

Earworm – I thought it was just me…..

My regular correspondent Adullamite has a couple of interesting articles on his most interesting blog about earworm.

I referred to the phenomenon recently, although at that time I didn’t know it was called earworm, in my recent post about Eve’s and my trip to London where I wrote:
“As we passed through Clapham Junction, the old Squeeze song sprung to mind and I haven’t been able to shift it from my brain playlist since.”

Like Adullamite, I am afflicted with this condition and it can last for days, even weeks with one (sometimes very annoying) song as the culprit.

Recently it was Pink Floyd’s ‘Have a Cigar’ that was playing in my heid, morning noon and night. If I woke up during the night or in the morning, the track was playing at volume in all of its surround sound, remastered quadrophonic glory.

Turn it down! I'm trying to sleep!

Except that it wasn’t.

Now I didn’t mind that too much because Wish you were here by Pink Floyd is one of my favourite albums of all time.

However a couple of weeks ago my earworm was, (I don’t really know if I should admit to this)………..

Last Christmas by Wham.

And do you know why Dear Reader?

Because there is a wee ‘ding’ that my laptop makes which sounds like part of the bloody intro to bloody Wham’s bloody Last bloody Christmas!!!!

iTunes 79p or free directly to your heid

Now as if this wasn’t bad enough, and I don’t know about you, but I have an associated condition which is similar to tourettes syndrome and entails me singing or whistling whatever tune is in my heid at a particular time.

Thankfully it is at low volume but invariably it will be one or two lines of the song which get repeated on an endless loop throughout the day.

And worse. Because I regularly write songs myself, I fit alternative words to the song and sing them instead!!!

Thus bemused colleagues and customers have been treated to my rendition of:

‘Last Christmas – I did a fart and the very next day you blew me away!’

I mean it wouldn’t be so bad, but in the middle of March?

So I’m glad it happens to you too.

It doesn’t?

Ehm er………..

Lookalike Leaders

Eck and Shrek

Tavish Scott and Sir Fred Goodwin

Gray Man and Quagmire

Aunt Anabel and Uncle Sam

Quick Quiz

Nae googling.

Nae prizes.

Who said the following in 1996?

“I want to have a substantial and profitable and world-wide business; I want to become a fully listed company on the Stock Exchange, and I want to have major league personal wealth, which for me is over £100m.” He grins cheerily when asked why he wants such massive personal wealth, and says succinctly: “It’s just what you use to measure yourself against the Hansens, the Goldsmiths, and the Bransons of this world.”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 268 other followers