• November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 270 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,211,735 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Terrorism Probe – In Gartocharn?

An explosion in a remote forest area is being investigated by counter-terrorism officers in Scotland.

A member of the public reported the explosion in the Garadhban forest in Gartocharn near Loch Lomond.

Police said there was damage to trees and that they suspected explosives had been involved. UK-wide agencies are helping police assess the scene.

Click Here for the full story.

Huzzah!

The Herald has a fantastic article about the impending Royal Wedding absolutely loaded with sub text and hidden messages. It reports from around Scotland but focuses on Edinburgh.

“Edinburgh will celebrate the big day by turning the square opposite the Usher Hall in Lothian Road into a viewing hub, where well-wishers can watch Prince William and Kate Middleton tie the knot live on a giant BBC screen.” (sub text – Edinburgh huh? fucking typical!)

“Aberdeenshire, home to the Queen’s Balmoral residence in Ballater, said it would take its cue from the mood of the local population.” (sub text – No one is remotely arsed about it in Aberdeenshire)

“A spokeswoman for Fife Council, which covers St Andrews, said any celebrations would be community-led, rather than organised by the local government.” (sub text – We’re not wasting any money on it)

Now bearing in mind that the Herald is a Glasgow based paper and in fact used to be called The Glasgow Herald, I scoured the article several times for the city’s plans to celebrate the happy event.

My eyesight is obviously failing because I can find no reference to Glasgow’s plans at all.

Readers can hopefully inform me of the news when it comes in.

On the day I plan to celebrate in my own way, probably on an island on Loch Lomond.

I Nose Your Name

I stumbled upon this article on the BBC which highlights research which contends that people with a more developed sense of smell are more inclined to obesity and overweight.

As someone who has had their own battles with their weight over the years, I found myself thanking providence that I have an absolutely rubbish sense of smell. I don’t know what size I’d have reached if I’d had a discerning nose!

Basking briefly in that semi-comfort, I then noticed a link to this article which refers to research linking poor smell identification to dementia.

Is it just me or does reading this kind of stuff make one paranoid?

Undaunted, I saw another link to this article which tells how odours become less unpleasant if you give them a nicer name.

In an experiment for example, volunteers asked to smell a cheddar cheese odour rated it as more pleasant when it was labelled as “cheddar” than as “body odour”. There were no examples however of labelling body odour as cheddar.

Now this I can identify with and I have my suspicions that our politicians and media have cottoned on to the principle a long time ago and not just in the potpourri department.

I mean when did a quilt become a duvet for example? I’d guess the late 70’s or early 80’s. This was probably around the same time that the Common Market became the European Economic Community and at a subsequent stage became the European Union and then the EU.

I mean who couldn’t like the EU? it’s almost like “YOU” a wee cuddly term. Not common at all – or anything to do with markets.

Mind you the jury is still out on whether Snickers has more appeal than Marathon. Or for that matter do you prefer Starburst or an Opal Fruit?

The Scottish Tories, sorry Conservatives have long toyed with the idea of a name change. I’d suggest Damien. I mean we have a TV channel called Dave don’t we?

And then there are countries which have changed name. Ceylon became Sri Lanka. East Pakistan became Bangla Desh, Rhodesia became Zimbabwe – hang on I’m not sure if name changes for countries are all that successful.

But maybe Ireland with its economic troubles could change to Seamus or Kevin. A new independent Scotland? what about Shug or Tam?

Alex Salmond could consider a less fishy surname perhaps?

Which brings me back to obesity and strong odours.

Silverware!

It was remiss of me not to mention that Dumbarton retained the Stirlingshire Cup on Tuesday night by virtue of a 2-0 victory over first division Falkirk.

Alan Adamson’s tenure has started well. Three victories in four games can’t have done any harm to his quest for his jacket to be upgraded from a bench in the dressing room to the shoogly nail in the manager’s office.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers