• September 2008
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 258 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,196,906 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Obama’s Latest Campaign Photo?

Thanks to Alastair for this. At least half of this blog’s readers are from the USA. Study this photo closely before deciding who to vote for in November.

Dumbarton’s Got Problems

Over at the Business for Dumbarton blog I have highlighted the tale of a customer of mine who is unable to access the High Street (Dumbarton) shops in her car with her disabled mother due to a ban on cars in the afternoon and no disabled parking. Meanwhile, ‘junkies’ (her words not mine) can get a taxi, door to door from the chemist to the off licence to collect their methadone prescription and Buckfast. This story is not politically correct but it is nonetheless the truth.
Helensburgh take note when you hear Councillors and officials extolling the virtues of various ‘traffic management’ schemes.

Helensburgh’s Got Talent. (2)

I mentioned yesterday that Phil Worms had been in touch with TBLFP to highlight other articles arising from the Observer Article on his (Phil Worms) efforts to raise Helensburgh’s profile. I’m certainly not wholly converted to Phil’s way of thinking but I do think some of the coverage has been a little unfair on him. For instance this article from the Independent is merely lazy journalism, clearly lifted from the Observer with a few disparaging (and inaccurate) comments thrown in. At least I credit my sources!

An flavour of John Walsh’s article is ‘Listen, matey, you want to say, your scabby fishing village doesn’t hold a candle to my charming suburb of Dulwich (pop 20,000) when it comes to famous connections.’ Scabby Helensburgh may be but it certainly isn’t and never has been a village, fishing or otherwise.

This blog will be following the progress of Phil’s efforts. He’s certainly got people talking about Helensburgh which is at least half the battle.

Just a Joke

A young man goes into a pharmacy and says to the pharmacist, “Hello, could
you give me condom. I’m going to my girlfriends for dinner and I think I may be in with a chance!” The pharmacist gives him the condom and as the young man is going out; he returns and says, “Give me another condom because my girlfriend’s sister is very cute too. She always crosses her legs in a provocative manner when she sees me and I think I might strike it lucky there too.” The pharmacist gives him a second condom and as the boy is leaving he turns back and says, “Go on, give me one more condom because my girlfriend’s mum is still pretty cute and when she sees me she always makes eyes, and since she invited me for dinner, I think she is expecting me to make a move!
During dinner, the young man is sitting with his girlfriend on his left, the sister on his right and the mum facing him. When the dad gets there, the boy lowers his head and starts praying, “Dear Lord, bless this dinner and thank you for all you give us.” A minute later the boy is still praying; “Thank you Lord for your kindness.” Ten minutes go by and the boy is still praying, keeping his head down. The others look at each other surprised and his girlfriend is even more surprised than the others. She gets close to the boy and says in his ear, “I didn’t know you were so religious.” The boy replies, “I didn’t know your dad was a pharmacist!”

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 258 other followers