• Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 269 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,210,420 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

My Oh My!

Do you know what? I just never thought I’d see a world like this. Here in the EU we are simply submerged in human rights. When I say human rights I mean the kind that’ll help some psycho scumbag life term prisoner find loopholes in the system to embarrass the government and make life easier for him. Most EU “human rights” with admittedly some exceptions are really a chancers’ charter. However what about civil liberties? i.e. REAL human rights- BASIC human rights? In the all singing all dancing human rights fest that is the EU, a member state’s government (A Labour government) thinks it is perfectly all right to introduce legislation to hold terrorist suspects for 42 days without charge. The opposition (A Conservative opposition) pointed out in parliament today that for a civilised democracy this is in fact taking the piss. They are of course quite correct.

When I was about 20 and idealistic, if someone had told me that a Conservative leader of the opposition would be taking the moral high ground in parliament on civil liberties against a Labour government I’d have laughed at the idea.

It happened today. It looks however like Labour will win the vote.

Meanwhile in the most reticent state in the EU, a country which fought long and hard for its independence goes to the polls tomorrow to have its say on giving more powers to the EU parliament and to voting in a new raft of “human rights”. I’ve I feeling the answer will be a resounding “feck off”

TBLFP Goes Top Ten!

A few weeks ago I registered the blog with the site Top Scottish Websites. Although I can’t figure out how they calculate traffic, the blog numbers there are certainly lower than the WordPress or Sitemeter figures, I’m delighted to say that today The Ben Lomond Free Press, for a short time at least, sits at number 10 amongst some rather august company.

I feel this is largely due to an inexplicable number of hits over the last few days, mainly from Brazil and the USA , for my piece a while back about John Prescott and his ludicrous claiming of victim status on account of him being a greedy bastard. Also I had done a posting about Gary Larson which has attracted much interest, although not yet from Mr Larson himself. Gary apparently gets rather annoyed by his work being publicised for free on blogs and has the offending posts removed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers