• October 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 281 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,214,025 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Great T.V. Themes

I notice from the press today that the winner of the best childrens' TV themes is the theme from the 1960's adaptation of Daniel Defoe's Robinson Crusoe. Presumably the people who voted were all of a certain age!

To say I loved this programme would be an understatement. I often imagined I was Crusoe and played games based on the story. I'm sure any boy who watched the show was affected in the same way. The idea was so exciting and the character of Crusoe brilliantly portrayed (in a 1960's way anyway) by Robert Hoffman.

 

                                     If you are a 60's or 70's child, try watching this without any emotion.

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

The Blue Nile v. Blade Runner

I've had an email from my fellow Blue Nile fan Paul Rodriguez who was the creator of the wonderful Nile/ Hopper montage Click Here regular readers will remember from a few months ago. Paul has been at it again and has put together this rather impressive, if unlikely video of Downtown Lights and scenes from Bladerunner. He explains in his mail he'd like to bring the music of the band to the attention of people who would otherwise not be aware of it. See what you think.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

There’s A Trout On the Ferry!

Thoroughly enjoyed Walter and his band at the Ferry  last night. This guy can play and has played with the very best, John Mayall and John Lee Hooker amongst them.

As you can see from the pic (which I took with my phone) the drummer was playing behind a glass screen which meant that the sound wasn't blasting out thus further damaging the hearing of the predominantly male audience aged 35-60. There was so much hair and ugliness on stage that one could have been forgiven for believing that one had stumbled in to the opening scene from MacBeth! Walter's bass player was the nearest likeness you'll ever see to Jerry Springer in a wig!

Walter and his band play no nonsense rockin' blues and they are to a man accomplished musicians. Heck! I even found myself enjoying the drum solo!  

The title I've given to the photo is an actual quote from a member of the audience when trying to get Trout to turn round for a picture! I felt a wee bit out of place in the audience. I don't have an earring and I wasn't wearing a t-shirt proclaiming a long established rock act, I don't have a tatoo and I'd left all my waistcoats at home! Anyway this I think has given me the taste for going to a few gigs over the winter months.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers