• October 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 281 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,218,139 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Another Favourite View

I took this one this morning.It is the view from Ardmore just before the car park for Ardmore Point. You can just see Helensburgh in the mid right of the picture. My kids tell me the horse's name is Tia.

Incedentally at the time just behind me was an almost perfect saltire in the sky formed by a long cloud and a jet trail. I couldn't get a decent shot of it because of the position of the sun. However it surely means Scotland are a stick on to win the rugby!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Sons v. Forfar0-0…

0-0 yesterday. The depressing scene at the finale above is nowhere near as bad as the game was!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Good Luck Craig!

Good Luck to my friend Craig who after 10 years as my assistant is moving on to pastures new. He first came to work for me when he was at school 12 years ago on the Work Experience programme and then started full time in 1997. We went out with a few other friends last night to mark the occasion and ended up at a Karaoke where I managed Van Morrison's Moondance and Eddie and the Hot Rods Do Anything You Wanna Do (The last time I sang this was with a band about 30 years ago).

Anyway I'll miss Craig's blind optimism especially where football is concerned. He's a big Rangers fan and would often say things like "Look at that Rab – Rangers to win 5-1 and Kris Boyd to score the first goal is at 75/1 with Ladbrokes" I think my sardonic answers to these remarks have had some effect although I think he does still sneak off for the odd crazy bet.

Anyhoo I know he reads this blog and I'd just like to say thank you Craig and good luck in your new job. I shall of course still expect my share if you do come up on the Euromillions

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Tightrope on the Twin Towers.

It is rare to see footage of the World Trade Centre in New York without passenger airliners flying in to them and destroying them. From a more innocent age here is a Frenchman who sneaked up on to the roof in 1974, shot a wire accross to the other tower and did an acrobatic tightrope walk for an hour. I'm terrible with heights and this truly gives me the hee bee gee bees! 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

A Daily Photo Project

I discussed on another thread of perhaps taking a photo of the same view from the one spot on a weekly basis and comparing the differences in the photos.

The video above is of a guy ( I only know him as JK Keller) who took his own photo every day for eight years and then ran the photos together as a video. Pointless but nonethleless it has a certain curiosity value. If your interest extends further, you can read about it HERE

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers