• July 2007
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 281 other followers

  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Recent Posts


  • Reviewers’ Comments

    "Great read every day. Makes me smile as Rab muses about music and his irreverent views on the EU. Tune in, you won't be disappointed."

    "Excellent 'Blog' which can be controversial at times, while maintaining it's humour. Keep it up Big Rab!"

    "Updated every day with doses of good humour, political satire, a running commentary on the progress of author's home football team and his life."

    "Pure brilliant, so it is - I never miss it, though God knows, I've tried."

    "An inspiration to start my own blog"

    "For dipping into it's better than pakora sauce"

    "Anyone who doesn't like the EU and has a soft spot for Albion Rovers can't be all bad"

    "Facile and False"

    "Populist,puerile and prosaic"

    "Utter pish! Keep it up, I love it!"

    "People may also find the Ben Lomond Free Press blog illuminating, interesting and/or amusing. It’s not mentalist as such but familiar themes emerge. I particularly like accounts of encounters with strange elementals (of course! ELEmentals!) from elfin safety. And the fact that the blog is run by someone who plays in a blues band called Harmonica Lewinsky."

  • Hit Me!

    • 1,218,862 hits since January 2008
  • Top Rated

Harmonica Lewinsky – Summer Tour

 

 

Yes folks, taking in two dates on the Clyde Riviera, The Harmonica Lewinsky summer tour of Helensburgh and Rhu takes place on the 20th and 27th of July. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On the 20th we play the Rhu Inn. The Rhu Inn is a great pub and has recently changed ownership. Thankfully the new owners are to continue the fine tradition of live bands.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you look carefully at this picture you'll see the excellent Clyde Bar just around the middle! I have played in various bands at the Clyde for mine host John Rappalini and it's always a good gig. We look forward to working again with Eck and Jim who do the sound there and are good eggs.

On this ocassion, 27th July (Friday)

we support Rhythm of Blues who seem to have a reasonable CV so we look forward to it.

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Chic Murray – Comic Genius

Once again I'm indebted to Alastair's Heart Monitor for inspiration here. Whilst replying to one of Al's threads about courtroom goings on, I had occasion to refer to one of Tom Shield's excellect compendiums of his diaries in the Herald. I then went on to look at a few of the other chapters. The one about Chic Murray caught my eye. It is a long time since I have literally cried with laughter but it happened today when I read some of the following anecdotes:

"What's your problem?" asked the doctor. "I've got butterflies in my stomach" said Chic. "Have you eaten anything recently?" inquired the doc. "Butterflies actually" came the reply.

 

My mother was so house proud that when my father got up to sleepwalk she had the bed made by the time he got back.

 

I had a tragic childhood. My parents never understood me. They were Japanese.

 

My wife went to a beauty parlour and got a mud pack. For two days she looked nice, then the mud fell off. She's a classy girl though, at least all her tattoos are spelt right.

Scene ; Chic and Maidie at Edinburgh airport , next in line to check in , festooned with luggage – en route to, let’s say, Lanzarote.

Maidie; You’re very quiet, Chic –everything all right?

Chic; Och, I’m just wishing we had our piano here…

Maidie; The piano?? Why on earth would we want the piano at an airport?

Chic; because our flight tickets – and the passports – are on it.

 

I knocked and the woman opened the door in her night dress. I thought to myself at the time what a strange place to have a door.

 I met this chap at the Olympics. I said to him, "Excuse me but are you a pole vaulter?", he replied,"No, I'm German, but how did you know my name was Walter?"

 

 When staying at a Rothesay hotel, there were the usual toast and marmalade (in little round pots) on the breakfast table in the morning. When the landlady came into the room, Chic lifted a tiny pot of honey and said "I see you keep a bee!"

On the platform on the Glasgow Underground Chic enquired of a ticket collector if the next train had a buffet car.

Whit?” “I was wondering if the next train ran a restaurant car,” inquired Chic. Nonplussed, the wee ticket collector looked at him and gave him another “Whit?” “The next train – does it have a restaurant car – you know, a buffet – somewhere where one can partake of a refreshment – a meal perchance?” This enticed an even more doubtful, but equally short retort, “Naw”. “Why not?” returned the baffled Chic. “Cos it’s a train, that’s why. It’s just a train. We dinnae serve food on oor trains.” “You mean I’ve got to starve all the way to Merkland Street?” retorted the incredulous Chic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 281 other followers